Manage builds

Note: The content on this page pertains to Game Server Hosting (Multiplay) available on the Unity Dashboard. If you’re using Game Server Hosting (Clanforge), see the Game Server Hosting (Clanforge) documentation.

A build is a collection of files required to run your game or application. You can manage builds from the Unity Dashboard. See the sections below to learn how to perform basic build tasks such as creating and updating a build.

Note: You can link a build to a fleet through a build configuration that points to the build.

Create a build

See Create a build.

Warning: Builds created with the direct file upload process doesn't support symbolic links. If you want to use symbolic links, you must use a Container build.

Update a build

The following instructions explain how to update an existing build from the Unity Dashboard.

  1. Navigate to Multiplayer > Game Server Hosting > Builds.

  2. Select the build you want to update.

  3. Select Files.

  4. Select Current files to remove one or more existing files.

  5. Select Upload files to add one or more files.

    1. Drag and drop files or select browse.
    2. Select Upload Files.
  6. Select the rollout mode. You can perform a progressive rollout or a forced rollout.

Perform a progressive rollout

A progressive rollout is a method of deploying a build update where you update servers only when they're empty. Game Server Hosting waits for your matchmaker to deallocate the server if any players are connected to a server.

To perform a progressive rollout:

  1. During the create new version workflow, select Progressive.
  2. Select Confirm.
  3. Wait for the upload to complete.

Perform a forced rollout

A forced rollout is a method of deploying a build update where you force servers to update even if players are connected. If players are connected when you start a forced rollout, Game Server Hosting kicks the players from the server.

To perform a forced rollout:

  1. During the create new version workflow, select Forced.
  2. Select Confirm.
  3. Wait for the upload to complete.

Delete a build

Note: You can't delete a build if it's assigned to a build configuration. Make sure to remove the build from any build configurations before continuing.

To delete a build:

  1. Navigate to Multiplayer > Game Server Hosting > Builds.
  2. Select the build to delete.
  3. Select Delete build.
  4. Confirm the deletion by selecting Delete again.

You can also delete multiple builds at a time by selecting more than one build, then selecting Delete builds.

Similar to deleting a single build, you must confirm that you want to delete the builds. You’ll receive an alert if Game Server Hosting can’t delete any of the selected builds.

Manage installation failures

Build installation failures sometimes happen. You can view the failed installation jobs by selecting View failed installs in the Installs view.

See Troubleshooting to learn how to fix common problems. Contact support if installs continue to fail.