Documentation

Unity Engine


User Manual

Script Reference

Unity Engine


Configuring how Unity enters Play mode

Configure the Unity Editor to enter Play mode more quickly and improve your development iteration times.
Read time 2 minutesLast updated 13 days ago

The ability to test your application by switching from Edit mode to Play mode is one of Unity's core features. You can use Play mode to run your project directly inside the Editor, through the Play button in the Toolbar.
Play mode is intended to provide a realistic preview of how your application is likely to behave for users. By default Unity performs two significant actions on entering Play mode to ensure your project starts and runs as it would in a build:
These two actions take time to perform, and the amount of time increases as your scripts and scenes become more complex. When you frequently make and preview changes, the cumulative time spent waiting to enter Play mode can significantly slow down your development process.
To prioritize faster development iteration times over accuracy of the Play mode simulation, Unity offers the ability to disable domain reload and scene reload on entering Play mode.
The following diagram provides a high-level overview of the effects of disabling domain reload and scene reload:

The effects of disabling domain reload and scene reload settings

For more detailed information on the effects of disabling domain and scene reload, refer to Details of disabling domain and scene reload.

Configure Play mode settings

You can configure what processes start when you enter Play mode in Enter Play Mode Settings in the Editor section of the Project Settings window. To disable domain reload and/or scene reload on enter Play mode:
  1. Open the Project Settings window (Edit >
    Project Settings

    ?

    ).
  2. Click on the Editor tab.
  3. In the Enter Play Mode Settings section, in the When entering Play Mode dropdown menu, do one of the following:
    • To disable domain reloading but enable scene reloading, select Reload Scene only.
    • To disable scene reloading but enable domain reloading, select Reload Domain only.
    • To disable both domain reloading and scene reloading, select Do not reload Domain or Scene.

Additional resources