Documentation

Unity Engine


User Manual

Script Reference

Unity Engine


Version Control project settings reference

Settings for version control in Unity.
Read time 1 minuteLast updated 13 days ago

You can use Unity in conjunction with most common version control tools, including Perforce and Unity Version Control.
To access the Version Control settings, go to Edit >
Project Settings

?

then select the
Version Control

?

category.

Property

Description

ModeSelect the version control mode.
Hidden meta filesHide the .meta files in your operating system’s file explorer. Unity does not show .meta files in the Project view, no matter which mode you choose.
Visible meta filesSelect this option to work with a version control system that Unity doesn’t support. This is the default setting. You can then manage the source Assets and metadata for those Assets with a version control system of your choice.
PerforceSelect this option if you use Perforce as your version control system.
UsernameEnter the username associated with your Perforce account. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
PasswordEnter the password associated with your Perforce account. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
WorkspaceEnter your workspace. For example,
Example**Workspace**1
. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
ServerEnter the server your Unity Project is on. For example, localhost:1666. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
HostEnter the hostname that you want your computer to impersonate. For example, workstation123.perforce.com. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
Log LevelSelect how much version control information to receive in Unity’s console log.
VerboseLog every operation related to version control. This option provides very detailed logging, and is useful if you want to debug your version control setup. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
InfoLog errors, warnings, and information related to version control.
NoticeLog errors and warnings.
FatalUnity prints only fatal errors to the console.
StatusDisplay information on the status of the connection to the version control system. If you are not connected, select Connect to connect to the system you have configured. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
Automatic AddWhen this setting is enabled, automatically add your files to the version control system when you add them to the Project, either via the Editor or the folder on disk. When this setting is disabled, you need to add files manually to the version control system. This setting is enabled by default. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
Work OfflineEnable this setting to work offline. When this setting is enabled, you need to reconcile offline work in P4V or use the reconcile command in P4 to bring the Perforce server depot up to date with the work you did while offline. For more information, refer to Working offline with Perforce. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
Async UpdateEnable this setting to use asynchronous version control status queries. When enabled, Perforce updates the version control status of files without stalling the Unity Editor. Use this setting when the connection to your version control server has high latency.

Note: Only status queries are asynchronous. Unity synchronously performs operations that change the state of files, or require up-to-date knowledge of a file status. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
Show Failed CheckoutsEnable this property to display a dialog when Perforce can’t perform the check out operation. This might happen if you lose connection, or if another user has exclusively checked out the Asset you want to edit. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
Overwrite Failed Checkout AssetsWhen you enable this setting, Unity saves any Assets that can not be checked out. This means Unity forces through a save to a file, even if Perforce cannot check out the file. This is enabled by default. If you disable it, Unity doesn’t force your files to save if Perforce can’t check them out. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
Auto Revert Unchanged FilesEnable this setting to automatically revert files that were checked out during asset import but have no actual content changes. Perforce verifies the unchanged status server-side using a content hash, so files with real changes are preserved. This is disabled by default. Enable it to keep your pending changelist free of incidental import-time checkouts. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
Smart MergeSmart Merge makes it easier for Unity to merge files that have changes on the same line. This is useful if several users are working on the same Project at the same time. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
OffDisable Smart Merge.
AskEnable Smart Merge, but receive a notification before you merge, if a conflict happens. This is the default setting.
PremergeAutomatically use Smart Merge.
Version Packages Outside ProjectTracks changes to packages that reside on disk outside of the Unity project's root folder while still in the local workspace. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.
Overlay IconsEnable this setting to display version control status icons in the Editor. This property is only visible when Mode is set to Perforce.

Additional resources