Documentation

​
​

Development

User Acquisition

Monetization

Industry

Self-Hosted Deployment

Amazon Web Services

Microsoft Azure

On premises

vpctl

Self-Hosted Deployment

​
​
Self-Hosted Deployment
  • Overview
  • Amazon Web Services
  • Microsoft Azure
  • On premises
  • Administration
    • Access the Keycloak admin console
    • Complete initial solution onboarding
    • Single sign-on
    • Organizations and projects
    • Users and service accounts
    • Groups
      • Manage groups
      • Grant and revoke access from groups
    • Licensing
    • upc-cli tool
    • Custom branding
  • Security
  • vpctl
  1. Self-Hosted Deployment (previously called Unity Virtual Private Cloud)
  2. Administration
  3. Groups

Grant and revoke access from groups

Manage access to projects using groups.
Read time 2 minutes
Last updated a month ago

To manage groups' project membership:
  1. In Unity Dashboard, go to Administration > Projects.
  2. Open a project.
  3. Go to the Members tab.
Note
Group-based access is available only at the project level (although groups are managed at the organization level).

Add or remove a group from a project

Use the Members tab to add and remove user groups from a project.

Add a group

Add a group to the project to give the group's users access to the project.
  1. In the Members tab, select Add groups.
  2. In Groups, select up to five groups. There's no limit to how many groups a project can have, but you can only add five groups in each process. If you need to add more than five groups, repeat the Add process as needed.
  3. Select a user type for the group:
    • User: This is the recommended user type; its permissions are more limited than the Owner type.
    • Owner: Assign this only to group members that need full permissions. For more information, refer to Change group access.
  4. Select Add to project.
After confirmation, the group appears in the project members list. Each member's user type appears as Based on group unless their organization user type is higher than the one assigned to the group.
Note
Once a group has a user type, you can provide fine-grain access control with roles.

Remove a group

Remove a group from the project to revoke user's access to the project.
  1. In the Members tab, select Manage roles (…) next to the group you want to update.
  2. Select Remove group from project.
  3. Review the confirmation message.
  4. Select Remove to confirm.

Change group access

Group access is determined by two settings: user type and roles.
To change group access, in the Members tab, select Manage roles.

User type

A group with an assigned user type is a member of the project. The user type controls the group's administrative level in the project.
To change a group's user type:
  1. Select Manage roles (…) > Edit user type in project.
  2. Select a user type:
    • User
      : Default user type with no administrative permissions.
    • Owner
      : Full project access.
  3. Select Save.
Changing user type immediately affects all group members.

Roles

Roles provide service-specific permissions in the project. You can only assign roles to a group that already has a user type.
  1. Select Manage roles (…) > Edit roles in project.
  2. Select the roles you want to assign. For more information, refer to Asset Manager roles or Automation roles.
  3. To remove all roles for a specific service, expand the list of roles and select Clear selection.
  4. Select Save.
Changing roles immediately affects all group members.
Roles granted through a group have the tag Project group in the Roles column of the members list.

Copyright © 2026 Unity Technologies
LegalPrivacy PolicyCookiesDocumentation Terms of UseDo Not Sell or Share My Personal InformationYour Privacy Choices (Cookie Settings)

"Unity", Unity logos, and other Unity trademarks are trademarks or registered trademarks of Unity Technologies or its affiliates in the U.S and elsewhere (more info here). Other names or brands are trademarks of their respective owners.

Some pages are machine-translated for convenience, and may contain inaccuracies. In the event of conflicting information, the English version is authoritative.

  • On this page
    • Add or remove a group from a project

      • Add a group

      • Remove a group

    • Change group access

      • User type

      • Roles


Report a problem with this page