Documentation

Retention schemas

Understand Unity DevOps retention policies for user content and data management.
Read time 1 minuteLast updated 3 months ago

Unity is committed to responsible management of user content. Users own their user content and are accountable for its management. User content refers to data stored in Unity Version Control (UVCS), Unity Build Automation (UBA), or Asset Manager on behalf of users.
To help you manage user content, Unity DevOps provides the following retention policies.

Retain forever

DevOps stores your data indefinitely until you choose to delete the data.
For the retain forever retention policy to be valid, you must maintain an active free account or a paid account with no overdue payments.

System-initiated user content deletion

System-initiated deletion of user content depends on whether you have a free account or paid account.
Note
For user-initiated deletions, user content is inaccessible immediately and fully deleted from DevOps systems within 7 days in accordance with Unity's Terms of Service.

For free accounts

Unity DevOps retains free user content for a maximum of 90 days after an organization becomes inactive. Any member of an organization can log into the Unity Dashboard to reset their retention period.

For paid accounts

Unity DevOps retains the user content of paying users indefinitely, according to the retain forever retention policy, unless your account doesn't comply with Unity Terms of Service. For example, if you fail to pay outstanding balances for more than 90 days, Unity reserves the right to delete your content.