Builds

Note: The content on this page pertains to Game Server Hosting (Multiplay) available on the Unity Dashboard. If you’re using Game Server Hosting (Clanforge), see the Game Server Hosting (Clanforge) documentation.

A build contains the files to run your game or application on Game Server Hosting’s servers. To link a build to a fleet and tell it how to run, you need to attach a build configuration to the build.

Note: Do not confuse Game Server Hosting builds with Unity server builds that you export from the Unity editor.

Game Server Hosting prompts you to upload your build files when you create a build. If you’re using a direct file upload, the files should be a loose set of unarchived (unzipped) files. The build will not work if it’s zipped into an archive.

Before you can use your build, you must create it into a release, which is a version of your build that’s ready to release to servers to run your game or application. The first version you create is Release 1.

The next time you update your build and create a new version, it will be Release 2. You can only use the latest version of a build.

When you update a build, it triggers a number of build installs. The number of installs depends on the number of servers using the build.

There are two methods to update a build called rolloutClosedThe process of "rolling out" an updated game image to all the machines in a fleet. modes: progressive and forced.

Progression rollout

A progressive rollout is a method of deploying a build update where you update servers only when they are empty. Game Server Hosting waits for your matchmakerClosedA multiplayer networking feature in games that groups players into a game session. to deallocate the server if it has any connected playersClosedConcurrently connected users (CCU) is the number of players simultaneously connected to a fleet, region, or server at a given point in time..

Forced rollout

A forced rollout is a method of deploying a build update where you force servers to update even if the server has connected players. If players are connected when you start a forced rollout, Game Server Hosting kicks the players from the server.