# Overlays preferences reference

> Reference for Overlays preferences.

Customize these settings to set the background color of [overlays](/engine/6000.3/manual/working-with-scenes/scenes-manage-gameobjects/overlays.md) for each Editor window that supports them.

To open these preferences, go to **Edit** > **Preferences** > **Overlays** (macOS: **Unity** > **Settings** > **Overlays**).

## Scene View

The Editor section contains the following settings.

| **Setting**            | **Description**                                                                                                                                                                        |
| ---------------------- | -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- |
| **Use Default**        | Resets the **Overlay Background** color for that window to the default for the active **Editor Theme**.                                                                                |
| **Overlay Background** | Sets the background color of floating overlays in the Scene view. The default is a translucent dark gray for the **Dark** theme, and a translucent light gray for the **Light** theme. |

You can also customize these colors from the **Colors** tab of the **Preferences** window (**Edit > Preferences > Colors**, macOS: **Unity > Settings > Colors**).

## Additional resources

* [Overlays](/engine/6000.3/manual/working-with-scenes/scenes-manage-gameobjects/overlays.md)
* [Scene view preferences reference](/engine/6000.3/manual/unity-editor/editor-settings-reference/preferences/scene-view.md)
* [General preferences reference](/engine/6000.3/manual/unity-editor/editor-settings-reference/preferences/general.md)
* [Preferences reference](/engine/6000.3/manual/unity-editor/editor-settings-reference/preferences.md)
